Odisha Primary Education Programme Authority

Odisha Primary Education Programme Authority (OPEPA) came in to existence as a registered society on
30th January 1996. The School & Mass Education(S & ME) department in the Government of Odisha has the responsibility to achieve the goals of Universal Elementary Education (UEE).
Read more
Types of Intervention
Mother Tongue based    Multilingual Education
Multilingual education is a structured programme of language learning and cognitive development providing
  • A strong educational foundation in the first language
  • Successful bridging to one or more additional languages
  • Enabling the use of both/all languages for life-long learning.
The purpose of a multilingual education programme is to develop appropriate cognitive and reasoning skills enabling children to operate equally in their native, state and national languages, starting in mother tongue with transition to second (Oriya) and third languages (English).

i. Scaling up of   MLE schools in    ten languages
Right now there are 544 Schools which have adopted MLE in 10 Languages over the Eight Districts. It is proposed in the perspective plan that Multilingual Education will be introduced in 1000 schools over a period of five years i.e 2007-2012.

It has been decided by the Stat Govt. to introduce MLE in additional   456 schools in ten existing tribal languages. Santhali language has been introduced in 100 schools of Mayurbhanj district. Now it has been decided to introduce Santhali as a medium of instruction in other districts. For up scaling of schools in existing ten tribal languages multilingual education shall be introduced in other districts over and above the present ones.  

Subtance use and
gambling policies for

As regards training of teachers, teachers of MLE schools will be imparted training on Class-I to Class-V training manual. Newly recruited teachers will be trained on Class-I & II MLE classroom transaction. Instructional materials for Class-I, II, III and IV on MLE approach will be prepared and distributed to 544 MLE schools covering 10 languages. Special grant of Rs.10, 000/- will be provided to the Schools which will  adopted MLE during 2011-12 for setting up of model MLE classroom.

ii.Adoption of 16 (sixteen) new tribal languages under MLE approach:
The new languages to be adopted   during this year will be as followings:
There are 62 scheduled tribes in Odisha out of which 26 scheduled tribes have their ethnic language. Rest of the tribes has been assimilated to the mainstream Oriya language.  Out of the living languages of the tribes of Odisha in the first instance 10 tribal languages have been adopted under MLE approach.

During  last  4  years , OPEPA  has  contributed  substantially  for the promotion of  primary education in   mother tongue  learning from the national and international experience. Even the  intensive    curriculum  development,  material development   from the  respective  cultural  context  have  been a challenging  task. But the MLE resource groups   are able to overcome the task and successfully prepared the materials. The MLE groups of Odisha have the experience on MLE approach and there is a strong resource group in the field which can provide its support if new languages are adopted   under MLE approach.

Initial work for adoption of MLE in these new tribal languages will   take at least 7-8 months. This includes identification of resource groups in different languages, orientation of resource groups, and exposure visit of resource groups to MLE schools of neighbor districts, collection of resource materials for preparation of curriculum, learning materials, and teacher training module.  Providing a strong   foundation   in the district   and the community would help the MLE to be grounded in the   schools effectively.  Classes   in ten new tribal languages will be initiated during 2012-13 academic session.

Inclusion of 16 language under MLE approach
Sl. No Name of the Tribe Name of the Language Name of the District
1 Gadaba Gutob & Ollari Koraput, Malkangiri
2 Bhumij Bhumij Mayurbhanj, Balasore
3 Ho Ho Mayurbhanj
4 Gond Gondi Nabarangapur, Kalahandi, Nuapada, Sundargarh, Sambalpur
5 Banjari Banjari Kalahandi, Nuapada
6 Paroja Parji Koraput
7 Kharia Kharia Sundargarh, Sambalpur, Mayurbhanj
8 Matya Matia Dhenkanal,  Khurdha, Malkangiri, Jajpur
9 Bhumia Desia Koraput, Nabrangpur, Malkangiri
10 Mirdhas Mirdha Sambalpur, Bargarh
11 Mahali Mahali Mayurbhanj
12 Shabar Lodha Savar Gajapati, Khurdha, Rayagada, Kalahandi, Dhenkanal, Cuttack
13 Kolha Kol Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Balasore
14 Lodha Kudumali Mayurbhanj
15 Bhunjia Chatisgarhi- Oriya Nuapada
16 Didayi Didayi Malkangiri
Powered By
CSM Technologies, IT Company, Bhubaneswar